Olongapo SubicBay BatangGapo Newscenter

Sunday, March 08, 2009


The 1st Mayor Bong Gordon Bikathon 2009 spearheaded by the city mayor with the help of the Olongapo City Sports Council Task Force Sports Chairman Rodel Cerezo on March 08, 2009 was a resounding success. The 2 lap bikathon started at the Ulo ng Apo to Subic Bay Freeport Zone (SBFZ).

Mayor Gordon fired the starting gun that set off the more than 130 participants from Olongapo City, the Subic Bay Freeport and Zambales. There were four (4) categories, Category A for professional bikers, Category B Mountain bikers, Category C for beginners and Category D for bikers fifty years old and above.

According to Cerezo, the objective of the event is to create awareness on energy and fuel conservation. ”It’s our way of supporting the city government’s drive for cleaner air,” he added.

After the race, bikers proceeded to the Rizal Triangle Multi-Purpose Covered Court for the awarding of medals. Aside from Mayor James Gordon, Jr., Vice Mayor Cynthia Cajudo, and Councilors Rodel Cerezo, Edwin Piano, Jhong Cortez, Gie Baloy, Nathan Manalo and Ellen Dabu graced the event.

The winners of Bikathon 2009 are:


Jaime Basilio, Jr. - Champion
Rudy Roque -1st Runner-up
Harry Manzano -2nd Runner-up
Danilo Adarne -3rd Runner-up
Jesus Sindanum Jr. -4th Runner-up


Gilbert Galliguez -Champion
Bong Guevarra -1st Runner-up
Joel Sentasas -2nd Runner-up
Armer Mariano -3rd Runner-up
Rolito Pecaña -4th Runner-up


Lawrence Mendoza -Champion
Michael Bundang -1st Runner-up
Silverio Monterola -2nd Runner-up
Jerome Aquipel -3rd Runner-up
Carlito Pamintuan -4th Runner-up


Mamberto Villalobos Jr. -Champion
Reynerio “Palos” Edquilane-1st Runner-up
Arnel Sanchez-2nd Runner-up

ON YOUR MARK, GET SET, GO! Mayor James “Bong” Gordon , Jr. firing the starting gun signaling the start of the 1st Mayor Bong Gordon Bikathon 2009 on March 8, 2009 at the Ulo ng Apo going to Subic Bay Freeport Zone. (inset) Vice Mayor Cynthia Cajudo, Task Force Sports Chairman Rodel Cerezo, Councilors Ellen Dabu, Nathan Manalo, Gie Baloy, Jhong Cortez, Edwin Piano and Category A Champion Jaime Basilio, Jr.


Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home


This is a joint private blog of volunteers from Subic Bay. It is being maintained primarily to collate articles that may be of importance to decision making related to the future of Subic Bay and as a source of reference material to construct the history of Subic Bay.

The articles herein posted remains the sole property of original authors and publications which has full credits to the articles.

Disclaimer: Readers should conduct their own research and due diligence before using any article herein posted for whatever intended purpose it may be. This private web log will not be liable for any loss or damage caused by a reader's reliance on information obtained from volunteers of this private blog.

www.subicbay.ph, http://olongapo-subic.com, http://sangunian.com, http://olongapo-ph.com, http://oictv.com, http://brgy-ph.com, http://subicbay-news.com, http://batanggapo.com 16 January 2012