Olongapo SubicBay BatangGapo Newscenter

Thursday, December 31, 2009

Ecaruan, Labay top Gapo chessfest

Mario Ecaruan and Rainier Labay nabbed the top places in the recently concluded 8th anniversary of g4 Chess Club Semi-Standard and Blitz Time Control Chess on Tuesday in Olongapo City.

Ecaruan, Roel Abelgas and Paolo Cortez finished in a three-way tie for first with 6.0 points, but the Ecaruan took home the Semi-Standard title owing to higher tie break points.

The event hosted by China-based Joel Pineda and National Chess Federation of the Philippines director lawyer Edmundo Legaspi.

Adjudged category winners were Judith Pineda (top women), Jeff Sampang (top local player), Jack Mapano and Ferdinand Onato (top senior), Eddie Lumanog and John Ranel Morazo(top collge), Ferdinand Aviles (top high school), Darwin Lorenzo (top elementary boys) and CJ Villanueva (top elementary girls).

Journeyman Rainier Labay, meantime, tallied 10.5 points to capture the Blitz division. John Ranel Morazo took the second place with 10.0 points followed by third place Venancio Go with 9.5 points.

La Salle Greenhills top player Jan Nigel Galan won the top junior award while Heirry Manaloto and Joshua Bautista shared the top kiddies honor. -- by Marlon Bernardino. abs-cbnNEWS.com

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home


This is a joint private blog of volunteers from Subic Bay. It is being maintained primarily to collate articles that may be of importance to decision making related to the future of Subic Bay and as a source of reference material to construct the history of Subic Bay.

The articles herein posted remains the sole property of original authors and publications which has full credits to the articles.

Disclaimer: Readers should conduct their own research and due diligence before using any article herein posted for whatever intended purpose it may be. This private web log will not be liable for any loss or damage caused by a reader's reliance on information obtained from volunteers of this private blog.

www.subicbay.ph, http://olongapo-subic.com, http://sangunian.com, http://olongapo-ph.com, http://oictv.com, http://brgy-ph.com, http://subicbay-news.com, http://batanggapo.com 16 January 2012