Olongapo SubicBay BatangGapo Newscenter

Tuesday, July 01, 2008


Olongapo City recently commemorated the 42nd anniversary of its City hood, a turning point in its history which was initiated by James “Jimmy” L. Gordon Sr., the acknowledged father of the city. In line with the celebration, recognitions were given to Olongapenos who excelled in their respective field of endeavors.

On June 27, 2008 at the Olongapo City Convention Center (OCCC), a program was held in connection with the event. One of the program’s highlights was a video presentation of the city’s history.

Mayor Gordon also made a video presentation of his accomplishments for the past four (4) years.

The accomplishment report of Mayor Gordon was based on his HELPSS agenda, a program which focuses on the areas of Health, Education, Livelihood, Peace and Order, Sports, Social Welfare and Spirit.

The awards given to Outstanding Olongapeños, companies and individuals were for excellence in their respective fields namely, sports, finance and community service.

The awardees each received a ‘Plaque of Recognition.’ The awardees are:

Top Ten (10) Business Permit Payees (Corporate)
1.Jollibee Food Express
2.Marinel Foods Corporation
3.San Miguel Corporation
4.Mart-One Expression
5.Coca-Cola Bottlers Corporation
6.Aivy Food Ventures Corporation
7.Centro City Store
8.Harley Food Ventures Corporation
9.Mansion Hotel and Restaurant Inc.
10.Avon Cosmetics

Top Ten (10) Business Permit Payees (Individual)
1.Marissa Calapatia (McDonald’s)
2.Chua Young Bing (Choa’s Supermart)
3.Oscar Santos (Mansion Hotel and Restaurant Inc.)
4.Ernesto Ting (King’s Bakeshop)
5.Erlinda Lim (Happy Valley Superstore)
6.Zenaida Lee (Jellebee)
7.Peter Tan Lee (Circle J)
8.Arvin Ting (Golden King)
9.Milagros Chua (Lucky C)
10.Aurelio Ico (Chowking)

Top Ten (10) Real Property Taxpayers (Individual and Corporate)
1.Kalayaan Development and Industrial Corporation
2.Ernesto Ting
3.Far East Bank
4.Limanch-O Hotel and Leasing Corporation
5.Chevron Corporation
6.Sentine Development Corporation
7.Petron Corporation
8.Oscar Santos
9.Subic Amusement Enterprises Inc.
10.Aurelio Ico

Recipients of the ‘Ulo ng Apo Medal of Excellence’ were Willie Miller, Regidor “Reggie” Pablo and Patrick John Tierro for career achievement in sports while the recipient for community service was Abraham Abiertas.

Miller is a basketball player from Alaska Giants and a two time Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Most Valuable Player (MVP).

Pablo is the seventh (7th) Filipino to reach the summit of Mount Everest while Tierro is the current number one tennis player of the country and ranks 785 of the best tennis players of the world according to the International Tennis Federation (ITF) rankings.

Meanwhile, Abiertas is an awardee of “National Gawad Kalasag-Individual Heroes Award” for “Heroic Act During Emergency Response and Emergency Operations.”

The awardees attest to and manifest the city’s slogan “Fighting for Excellence.”

ULO NG APO MEDAL OF EXCELLENCE: Mayor Bong Gordon hands over to ‘’Ulo ng Apo Medal of Excellence’’ awardee Abraham Abiertas the Plaque of Recognition during the 42nd Anniversary of the Cityhood of Olongapo Commemorative Program. With Mayor Gordon are Olongapo First Lady and Zambales Vice Gov. Anne Marie Gordon, Vice Mayor Cynthia Cajudo, City Councilors Gie Baloy, Jong Cortez ang Ellen Dabu.

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home


This is a joint private blog of volunteers from Subic Bay. It is being maintained primarily to collate articles that may be of importance to decision making related to the future of Subic Bay and as a source of reference material to construct the history of Subic Bay.

The articles herein posted remains the sole property of original authors and publications which has full credits to the articles.

Disclaimer: Readers should conduct their own research and due diligence before using any article herein posted for whatever intended purpose it may be. This private web log will not be liable for any loss or damage caused by a reader's reliance on information obtained from volunteers of this private blog.

www.subicbay.ph, http://olongapo-subic.com, http://sangunian.com, http://olongapo-ph.com, http://oictv.com, http://brgy-ph.com, http://subicbay-news.com, http://batanggapo.com 16 January 2012