Olongapo SubicBay BatangGapo Newscenter

Wednesday, June 17, 2009


‘’Alay-Lakad Foundation, Inc. Olongapo City Chapter is happy to announce that ten (10) Olongapeños has benefitted from the Alay-Lakad Scholarship program,’’ said City Social Welfare and Development Office (CSWDO) Head Gene Eclarino.

New beneficiaries of the foundation for school year 2009-2010 were all enrolled in Gordon College taking-up courses of their choice including Bachelor of Science in Accountancy, Education, Hotel and Restaurant Management (HRM) and Information Technology (IT).

Different activities initiated by City Mayor and Alay Lakad Board Director James “Bong” Gordon Jr. with various collaborating government agencies and non-government organizations have raised funds to provide financial assistance to the poor but deserving youth of the city who are in the tertiary level of education.

Likewise, to maintain quality scholars, the foundation has set standards for beneficiaries such as maintaining an average not lower than 85% or 2.0, present copy of final grades and accomplished documents as proof of enrollment every semester.

‘’Ang foundation ay nag-lalaan ng mahigit Sampung Libong Pisong financial assistance kada semester sa bawat scholar batay sa halaga ng kanilang enrollment fees. Naka-saad rin sa kasunduan na ang halagang nagastos ng foundation sa kanilang pag-aaral na kung sila ay may trabaho na ang makatulong naman sa ibang mga kabataan na qualified rin na maging scholar ng foundation,’’ CSWDO head added.

The following are the beneficiaries of 2009 to 2010 Alay-Lakad Scholarship:

1. Janelle Mojica
2. Crystal Beneth Fernando
3. Blych Anne Perez
4. Joanne Manalastas
5. Arjean Mejos
6. Angela Macalino
7. Jomelyn Nieva
8. Rholando Real
9. Rameres David
10. Kristine Guevarra

Among the foundation’s recent graduates, three (3) graduated with flying colors, namely, Vanessa Amor C. Reside, who graduated cum laude with BS in Information Technology, Jocelyn C. del Rosario, cum laude with BS in Nursing and Reginald Louise M. Aguas, cum laude with BS in Accountancy.

In selecting this year’s qualified scholars, the screening committee was composed of a five-man selection panel headed by 2008-2009 Alay-Lakad Executive Committee Chair Anne Marie Gordon, representatives from the Soroptomist International, Rotary Clubs, Department of Education (DepEd), Olongapo Business Club (OBC) and City Social Welfare and Development Office.


Labels: , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home


This is a joint private blog of volunteers from Subic Bay. It is being maintained primarily to collate articles that may be of importance to decision making related to the future of Subic Bay and as a source of reference material to construct the history of Subic Bay.

The articles herein posted remains the sole property of original authors and publications which has full credits to the articles.

Disclaimer: Readers should conduct their own research and due diligence before using any article herein posted for whatever intended purpose it may be. This private web log will not be liable for any loss or damage caused by a reader's reliance on information obtained from volunteers of this private blog.

www.subicbay.ph, http://olongapo-subic.com, http://sangunian.com, http://olongapo-ph.com, http://oictv.com, http://brgy-ph.com, http://subicbay-news.com, http://batanggapo.com 16 January 2012